I haven’t posted to this blog in a really long time. It took something near and dear to my heart to get me to stop watching “Real Housewives of Atlanta” and “Jersey Shore” reruns and actually write a post.

 I think I’ve officially got my fill of the use of the word diva. I have a real problem with the oversaturation of it. Even more annoying is that the people who use it don’t realize its true connotation. It drives me insane when a woman calls herself a diva and thinks she’s giving herself a compliment. A diva is not a good thing, its basically just a nice way of saying you’re a bitch. We’re perfectly fine with someone saying we’re a diva, but the minute they call you a bitch you’re ready to fight someone. I don’t understand it.

 Here’s the ugly truth ladies: divas are demanding, pretentious, hard-to-please, insufferable, and unpleasant. They’re narcissistic and and they dont’ really care about anyone other than themselves and what they want. It’s gone from its previous connotation of a regal woman of status to this ugly version. The most troubling part to me is that there really is no male equivalent for this. There is no special word that describes a man that is demanding, pretentious, and hard to please. It’s just yet another example of low-key sexism in our society.

  On a sidenote: when I had this discussion with someone it brought up the subject of other words we feel are oversaturating our lexicon. My cousin hates the word swag. (I actually kind of like it). What do you all think? Is it ok to call yourself a diva? Are there words that you personally can’t stand?

