I’ve had this cough for about three weeks.

No other symptoms. Just a cough. Well, and an occasional shortness of breath.

All of a sudden little things that never used to bother me are hard to do. Things like walking and even talking sometimes get me so winded.

I was having a conversation with my best friend and she noticed it.

“You still have that cough,” she said.

“Yeah,” I said.

“You need to go to the doctor,” she said. I wouldn’t expect anything less she’s a nurse and very overprotective of me.

But the thing is that’s easier said then done. I don’t have any health insurance. And now I don’t have a full time job, so I can’t afford the doctor bill. 

 I worked a job that I loved for eight years. I had health insurance that I paid into for eight years. Then the economy got bad and I lost my job and  my health insurance. That was almost a year ago. I found work temporarily, but that was a contract job and because of the economy it soon ended. So now I work a part time job making just above minimum wage and I go to college full time.

The funny thing is most of the people I know and that I see on TV complaining about the new healthcare bill are people who have healthcare plans. I haven’t seen anyone, like me without insurance complaining about it.

Its pretty tough, but its even tougher when I get sick and I can’t just walk into a hospital. That’s what I don’t understand about people that are against overhauling healthcare. There are a lot of people out there that aren’t looking for a handout.  Many of them are people who, through no fault of their own, lost jobs and their healthcare.

We are all willing to admit that the economy stinks, but so many that are blessed not to be as impacted by it are unwilling to help those who’ve really been devastated by it.

They call this the most generous country in the world, but I really have to wonder about that.

