In an effort to understand the male mind a little bit better over the past few months I’ve read three relationship books by men for women. All three books attempted to put women at a dating advantage by allowing us to understand how men think about women. After a year of being single I applied some of the techniques and caught me a hot, sexy guy. Was it the books? Who knows, but if you’ll indulge me I’d like to share some of the lessons I learned over the next three blog posts.

Actor/comedian Steve Harvey’s “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” was a best seller. He was all over the place giving love and relationship advice. And for good reason, the book was an incredible insight into the male psyche. Steve’s book forced me to look at myself the way a man sees me. Once I understood how a man saw me I understood their behavior.

One concept that stood out for me was his sportsfishing analogy. He explained that men sometimes view dating and pursuing women like fishing. There are the women that they catch and keep and then there is sports fishing where they fish just to see what they can get and then throw it back. That’s sports fishing. I never realized it, but I was a sports fish.

I say that because I always thought of myself as the type of girlfriend who didn’t put pressure on her man. I was never the type that would hound you about your whereabouts. I’m a free-spirit and I take that attitude into my relationships. I was always carefree and fun, with very little rules. I was always open to trying wild and adventurous things. What I learned is that men like those kinds of women, but they don’t date or marry those kinds of women.

They need and want rules and restrictions, just not too many. Also, being too wild and free makes them wonder if you are capable of being serious as a mother or a wife. I thought this was fascinating. I wonder if any of my guy readers agree or disagree with Steve’s take on this? What do you think? Do guys like freedom or do they need rules?

