seal-heidi-klum-01

Model Heidi Klum kisses her husband singer Seal.

Two stories in the news the past few days sadly show that we as a people are still hung up on dating and race.

The first is a story out of Louisiana about a justice of the peace who refuses to marry a black male/white female couple. You can link to the story here. The second story I saw today was about a resolution that was passed urging President Obama to pardon the late boxer Jack Johnson who was jailed for 10 months for dating a white woman. You can link to that story here.

This both saddens and angers me.  I’ve dated black, Latino and white men. I’ve also experienced the ignorance and stigma of dating interacially. I dated a white guy who  never let me meet his parents because they didn’t like him dating black girls. We had to sneak around and meet each other in secret. This was 2008, not 1958. And this wasn’t in the South. It happened in Washington, D.C.

I wish people would just mind their own business and let people love who they want to love.

It’s hard enough out here trying to find good people to have healthy, stable relationships with. When you start putting limits on a person’s race and sexual orientation and religion, you only limit yourself. You could potentially keep yourself from being with the person of your dreams because your prejudice. If you don’t want to date outside your race, that’s fine more power to you. But don’t knock other people if that’s what they want to do.

I hope if any good comes from this it will shut up all the people who think that the minute this country got a black president  our racial problems went out the window. (BTW, our president is the product of an interracial union. I’m just saying) There will always be ignorant people in this world and as long as that is the case there will always be racism.

I have a gorgeous little nephew that is the product of a bi-racial union. My sister and my mom are both dating outside their race and they’re both very happy.

If it makes you feel any better, as an equal opportunity and serial dater, I can say with complete confidence that ALL men are completely and totally insane. Race has nothing to do with it.

