I guess I had a few too many

I guess I had a few too many

I’m not a drinker but I will imbibe from time to time. This time, I hung out with my friend Dee for some barhopping and a whole lot of drinking. So naturally I feel like total crap. I’m sure you can relate. In my post-drunken haze I took the liberty of compiling a list of some of the world’s most bizarre hangover remedies. I can assure you I won’t be trying any of these, but they make for a fun read. Enjoy.

  1. Pickled Sheep’s Eyes in Tomato juice: popular in Outer Mongolia
  2. Rabbit Droppings Tea: In the Old West cowboys drank for hangovers. (Kind of gives a new meaning to being shit-faced), LOL.
  3. Cow’s Stomach: In Romania they cure a hangover with a stew made from tripe, aka cow’s stomach. The cow’s stomach is boiled in greasy, salty root vegetable soup with garlic, vinegar and cream.
  4. Deep fried Canaries (Ancient Greece)
  5. Sheep’s lungs and two owl eggs (Ancient Rome)
  6. The Prairie Oyster: (I saw this one on the Food Network). It’s a whole raw egg, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper. The goal is to swallow the whole thing in one gulp without breaking the yolk.
  7. Burial: The Irish have a strange custom to cure hangovers: burying the person in moist river sand.
  8. Dried Bull’s Penis (Sicily)
  9. Sour pickle juice (Poland): A variation on this is soured milk. Some say soured milk (which is unpasteurized and has been left at room temperature for a day or two).
  10. Drinking your own sweat: Some Native Americans tribes would run until they get sweaty then lick all the sweat up and spit it out. This is supposed to get rid of all the ‘poison’ you’d just oozed out.
  11. Soot: In the 19th century chimneysweeps used the healing power of soot mixed into warm milk.
  12. Voodoo: A Haitian remedy recommends sticking 13 black pins in the cork of the offending bottle

BONUS: An Ounce of Prevention:

  • Peanut Butter Eating peanut butter before drinking is an African remedy.
  • Scalp stimulation Pull your hair in clumps so that your full scalp is stimulated. This remedy brings blood to the scalp and relieves the headache.
  • And of course, the good old Lemon on your Armpits In Puerto Rico one remedy is to rub half of a lemon or lime in the armpit of their drinking arm before they start drinking to stop a hangover before it starts. Apparently, lemon prevents dehydration and therefore headaches because it helps retain fluid. Experts say you rub the lemon clockwise if you live in the Northern hemisphere and counterclockwise in the southern hemisphere for the full effect.

Sources:

